Importance of Colours

Recently, I had a very poignant explanation of how important colours can
affect a person at Home

One of my faithful clients came to my boutique and looked sad and
different than usual.

Spontaneously, I asked “You changed your hairstyle as you cut your hair”

She calmly replied : Isabel, Yes, you can see my hair is not the same

“I have got cancer” and am still under these
chimiotherapy treatments

“NOW I FEEL I NEED COLOUR to my HOME”

Unfortunately, as you know, in Finland, people are
used to only use beige, white colours in their home
until they have cancer and

“realise the importance of colours”

Please, cut me a piece of this beautiful burnt orange
linen fabric matching my bag ! so as to cover one
bench (“rahi in Finnish”) that will give a splash of
colour in my home

“I WANT TO BRING JOY”

This situation made me come back to think of the importance of colours
surrounding us : How do they affect our lives ?

I went back to my childhood and remembered of my mother wearing a beautiful
orange/fuchsia dress from Bogner- How happy I was feeling seeing her
wearing that dress and even taking a picture of my parents – which
remained for me the nicest picture of both – just because the colour made
her look so happy.

Also, I thought of my childhood in Amsterdam where the hippie period had
started with Woodstock, the Beatles and all these fuchsia , orange,
purple,turquoise colours – all the clothes I was wearing then were
influenced by those trendy juicy colours

Later on I was fascinated by Yves Saint Laurent´choice of colours as well
as Valentino´s red.

At the University, studying History of Art, I had followed visually some
paintings by Le Titien, Velasquez … and was fascinated by the special
burnt orange red that was reserved for “the Noblesse” ..
and for instance the amazing blue colour used for “The Lady with the Blue
Turban from Vermeer

All colours seen in paintings had a great impact on me

Regarding the importance of colours in your Home, this is very personal
When I came to Helsinki 17 years ago, I would not have imagined how
important it was . My first reaction buying a coat was finding a red one
from Marimekko designed by Ritva Falla and one more casual from Henri
Lloyd that had a special red. I guess this was an unconscious reaction to
the weather then !

With the time, due to the weather, colours have become a very essential
choice. I had to have the walls painted yellow so as to have a permanent
SUN FRIEND at home. I still love it.

I decorated recently an apt “Residence Seven” where I started smoothly with
lots of soft whites with Farrow and Ball paints (The best for me) – it was
OK but I was getting depressed – so at the end I had to add a touch of
colours and everything looked peaceful and classy

Remember:

no colours = no personality

a bit of colour = more personality

still more colours = strong personality

too much colours = craziness

In which field are you ??

Come and find out at Isabel B. Pieni Roobertinkatu 5 /Korkeavuorenkatu 29

http://www.isabelb.fi

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment